Saturday, March 11, 2017

Kid Konnection: Presidents and First Ladies

Every Saturday, I host a feature called Kid Konnection -- a regular weekend feature about anything related to children's books. This week I'm going to share with you two books -- one about Presidents and one about First Ladies.

Summary: TIME For Kids presents a complete overview of our nation's chief executives from George Washington to the newly elected 45th president!

Did you know that James Monroe was the first president to appear without a wig in public? Or that George W. Bush appointed the first African-American secretary of state? Presidents of the United States invites the reader inside the White House to discover fascinating facts about the U.S. commanders-in-chief-their origins, accomplishments, and place in history-as told through famous quotes, important historical dates, and a timeline of events. Special sections cover the election process, the branches of government, and the role of presidents in the expansion of our nation from before the 13 colonies through westward expansion. With more than 200 photographs, illustrations, portrait reproductions, and maps. -- Liberty Street

My son loves books about history, and one that definitely caught his eye these past few weeks is TIME FOR KIDS PRESIDENTS OF THE UNITED STATES, This book, aimed at ages 8 - 12, features all of our country's presidents... including our 45th one, Donald Trump.

I think TIME FOR KIDS PRESIDENTS OF THE UNITED STATES is a fantastic book! In fact, I love that it condenses the history of the presidents' lives and careers in one easy-to-read book. This relatively short book (around 80 pages) is perfect for kids who want to learn about our executive branch of the government. What's even better is that it's not overwhelming or intimidating because the information is presented in such a concise way. There are even lots of pictures and photographs to break up the text!

In addition to providing brief histories of each president, TIME FOR KIDS PRESIDENTS OF THE UNITED STATES also provides interesting information on the history of the office of the presidency as well as a primer on the three branches of government. There is also a discussion of the political party system in the United States and a sections on the First Ladies and the White House.

TIME FOR KIDS PRESIDENTS OF THE UNITED STATES is a fantastic resource for both school and home libraries. Highly recommended.

Summary: First Ladies are more than just wives of U.S. presidents! This fun, kid-friendly book of trivia and history shows that First Ladies help influence America in ways both large and small.

Did you know that Mary Todd Lincoln hated slavery and helped to end it in America? Or that Edith Wilson helped decode secret messages during World War I? How about that Sarah Polk didn’t let anyone dance in the White House while she was first lady?

It’s true! In addition to being hostesses, advocates, ambassadors, activists, patriots, and role-models, each first lady put her own stamp on the White House—and on our country. In this fun-filled, fact-filled book, you can find out just what made each first lady unique and why they were so important. As it turns out, first ladies are a pretty big deal after all!

This book is perfect for fans of So You Want to be President? and Rad American Women from A-Z:Rebels, Trailbalzers, and Visionaries who Shaped Our History…And Our Future, and is a great entry point to discussing elections, inaugurations, and all aspects of the White House with children. -- Philomel

WHAT'S THE BIG DEAL ABOUT FIRST LADIES by Ruby Shamir and Matt Faulkner is a picture book that's ideal for kids ages 4 - 8 who want to learn more about our country's First Ladies. Most people recognize the important ceremonial role of First Ladies; however, this book spotlights also the accomplishments of various First Ladies.

I adored WHAT'S THE BIG DEAL ABOUT FIRST LADIES! It's a wonderful picture book that has already received its fair share of praise including a starred review from Kirkus. This book truly makes learning fun. There is interesting text about the roles and responsibilities of a First Lady, but there are also little tidbits that give real life examples of First Ladies' actions and the influence they had.

The text in WHAT'S THE BIG DEAL ABOUT FIRST LADIES is presented is such a friendly format -- it's almost conversational. While there are plenty of books about our presidents, I can't remember seeing one about First Ladies... nevertheless a picture book! Young readers (but especially girls) will be sure to appreciate how this picture book focuses on women and their accomplishments.

WHAT'S THE BIG DEAL ABOUT FIRST LADIES is an excellent picture book and another must-have addition to home and school libraries!

Thanks to Blue Slip Media and Penguin for providing review copies of these books.

If you'd like to participate in Kid Konnection and share a post about anything related to children's books (picture, middle grade, or young adult) from the past week, please leave a comment as well as a link below with your name/blog name and the title of the book! Feel free to grab the little button too!


bermudaonion said...

I loved the Time-Life book about Presidents and suspect I'd love the First Ladies book too.

Stacie said...

I loved that Presidents books too and wish I had the First Ladies one. I love their stories!