Saturday, July 16, 2016

Kid Konnection: More National Geographic Kids Books


Every Saturday, I host a feature called Kid Konnection -- a regular weekend feature about anything related to children's books. This week I'm going to share with you two educational books that are also a lot of fun!

Summary: Fans of Disney Pixar's Finding Dory and Finding Nemo movies will love meeting the real underwater critters behind the film in this colorful, fact-filled nonfiction book. From life in coral reefs, to sharks and rays, to sea birds, kids will meet incredible sea-based animals in action, including the blue tang fish and clownfish. It's all captured with beautiful underwater photography and features cool info about our oceans -- including fascinating facts, maps, and marine conservation tips and efforts. -- National Geographic

The time couldn't be better for the new book OCEAN ANIMALS: WHO'S WHO IN THE DEEP BLUE by Johanna Rizzo. With so many kids going to the movie Finding Dory this summer, this book is sure to be a hit for those who want to learn more about the various ocean animals that appear in the movie.

OCEAN ANIMALS: WHO'S WHO IN THE DEEP BLUE is full of incredibly beautiful photographs... as is the case with all of the National Geographic Kids books that I've been featuring these past few months. This book, however, is so amazing because it also has tons of facts about these  interesting creatures. I don't know what's more impressive, the pictures or the educational information!

The book begins with the various oceans in the world and moves to the different layers of life in the water. Then the sections about the living parts of the oceans begin. There are chapters for Coral Reefs, Sharks & Rays, Marine Mammals, Whales & Dolphins, Marine Reptiles, Marine Birds, Bizarre Creatures, and Ocean Habitats. There are also sections on the Pristine Seas Project and 20 Ways You Can Protect the Ocean.

I just love how the information in presented in this book. There are sections of fun facts, comparisons between animals, maps, charts, and more. Each page provides something different for inquiring minds, and I do believe the book can be appreciated by either skimming it or reading it from cover to cover.

I have always loved aquariums and OCEAN ANIMALS: WHO'S WHO IN THE DEEP BLUE is like having your very own aquarium in your library. Highly recommended.

Summary: Going on a road trip? See the silly side of travel as you explore the wackiest landmarks from around the world -- a place where you can walk in real dinosaur tracks, a hotel where you sleep in an igloo, a crazy beard festival, a UFO museum, and so much more. You won't believe our world is full of so many bizarre and wonderful places! -- National Geographic

125 WACKY ROADSIDE ATTRACTIONS is another fun addition to the National Geographic Kids library. This book is perfect for summer travels because it includes 125 of the craziest landmarks around the world!

I found this book to be incredibly interesting. I had no idea that these places existed, and I loved that these wacky places were combined into one resource book. For example, there is a hotel where giraffes can come through the window and share your meal and a hotel in Turkey where the rooms are all underground. There is a museum of bad art and a corn palace in South Dakota. The list could go on and on!

Of course, it's highly unlikely that your travels will take you around the world to visit all 125 wacky roadside attractions; however, the book is a great addition to your summer travels. For each of the 125 attractions, there is a paragraph telling readers where they can find it as well as a brief description. I couldn't believe the assortment of attractions they identified... or truly the assortment of attractions that exist around the world!

125 WACKY ROADSIDE ATTRACTIONS is another entertaining and educational book for inquisitive kids! Definitely a fun addition to the summer reading list!

Thanks to Media Masters for providing review copies of these books.

If you'd like to participate in Kid Konnection and share a post about anything related to children's books (picture, middle grade, or young adult) from the past week, please leave a comment as well as a link below with your name/blog name and the title of the book! Feel free to grab the little button too!

5 comments:

bermudaonion said...

I need to get 125 Wacky Roadside Attractions so Carl and I can take some road trips! Both of these books sound terrific!

Karlie said...

The Wacky Roadside Attractions is such a unique book idea for kids! I bet the adults would enjoy it too.

Stacie said...

The Roadside Attractions sounds awesome. We have one about 20 minutes from us....a huge skillet! It in the tiny Iowa town of Brandon. I wonder if that is listed in the book!

Nocturnals World said...

Who's Who in the Deep Blue looks like a perfect read to engage kids with oceanic animals! And you're right, I bet it'll be a hit coming so soon after Finding Dory (especially with that cover).

Julie P. said...

Stacie - I don't see it in here!